• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help needed: difficulty using external preamp for turntable

celphmade

Hello gents! As a complete newbie, I am looking for some help.

Here is my gear: 2x Yamaha HS8 studio monitors, Rega Planar 1 turntable, Topping A50S pre-amp.

Turntable cables plugged in the RCA input holes in the pre-amp. RCA output to 3.5mm audio straight in the studio monitors which have built in amplifiers.

When I play a vinyl, at MAX volume on both the pre-amp and the studio monitors, I get very low powered sound.

Can anybody help me understand what I am doing wrong please?!

OP
C

celphmade

Thanks for the prompt response! I will try connecting a phono stage and will report back, but it sounds like you are right!!!

Does that mean I should have avoided the Topping Pre-amp in your opinion?

mhardy6647

Grand Contributor
Does that mean I should have avoided the Topping Pre-amp in your opinion?
I realize you're not asking for my opinion, but here 'tis... ;)

The "phono preamp"/"phono stage" that you need does two things -- it amplifies the very low level signal from the phono cartridge and it equalizes the signal being transduced from the record* via the cartridge, so that the output of the phono stage is a line-level "flat" signal like most other analog audio "source" components (e.g., a tuner, tape deck, standalone CD player, etc.). Both functions are mission-critical :) BUT, most phono stages don't offer a variable level ("volume") control, so...