• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help me decide, open-back headphones around 300$

Faith

-=PREVIOUS HEADPHONE=-
I've been using the DT990 for quite a few years now but it's time to upgrade as the right driver stopped working.

The main issues I had with that headphone were:
1) Cheap plastic hinges that would break really easy ( had to replace them twice )
2) Fatiguing audio to the point I had to lower volume or take a break after a few hours. ( + soft EQ to boost the bass )

And there were some other things that annoyed me but it's not a deal breaker to be honest:
1) Awful process of replacing pads
2) Hair that would get stuck between the foam-driver every now and then ( 4-6 months ) resulting in rattling.

-=USE CASE=-
1) Music
I mainly listen to Firehouse/Techno, Rock/Metal, Jazz but I like to explore other genres from time to time.
A thing I noticed is I don't pay too much attention to lyrics as the vocals are usually another musical instrument in the music composition for me although I am willing to explore other options. I can also make a playlist if need be to show what I prefer lately.

2) FPS shooter games that have lots of communication
Competitive mindset in the few games I play, I go for highscores and chase perfect play.
I also enjoy good communication + immersion in the games ( Squad / Escape from Tarkov etc )
I use EqAPO for a compression filter because those games have high dynamic range ( tank shots result in instant tinnitus ).

60/40 Music/Gaming although in the future I see gaming to be reduced to 20~ possibly

-=My main issue=-
It seems if I prefer better gaming I give up too much on music and vice versa, these are the options I am considering so far:

1) AKG712 (230)