• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help in deciding which between Yamaha HS8 and JBL mkII 308p

nsense

I'm not technically a newbie, but wasn't sure where this thread goes. I have a 18'×14' studio space (which will be acoustically treated) and I'm looking to buy my first and only pair of studio monitors for some hobbyist and freelancing mixing and mastering and independent music and covers etc. Note that looking at the price point, the 308s make sense, but I've found mixed reviews on them. The fact that this will be my only pair of monitors for the foreseeable future, I wouldn't mind a little premium, (but please do not suggest me any monitors that go beyond the price point of the HS8s, those will simply not be in my budget.)
Mix translatability and dependability is key.

LightninBoy

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I don't believe the Yamaha HS series is competitive. JBL, Adam, and Kali all have better options in their prices ranges. That said, of the HS series, the HS8 is the only one I would even consider.

So I would definitely recommend the 308s with the following caveats ...
* buy from a dealer with an easy return in case you get a pair with excessive hiss
* you have a mechanism to eq the small crossover dip at around 1.5Khz
* your primary use is nearfield or if in far field you don't need to listen loud

I have the 306mkii and like them alot. I've done speaker/room measurements and drop an EQ plugin in my master bus to compensate for room and the crossover dip mentioned above. Mix translation has been excellent.

Edit: But don't just take my word for it ... check out the monitor measurements in the speaker reviews: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?pages/SpeakerTestData/

OP
N

nsense