• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones preference score ranking chart based on Harman target curve

Henreid

https://github.com/jaakkopasanen/AutoEq/blob/master/results/RANKING.md
Headphones ranked by Harman headphone listener preference scores.
Thanks for this list. Even though I'm a relative novice, I recognize that this ranking doesn't claim to grade headphones as the best models to buy merely for their close conformance to the Harman target curve. However, I feel it can provide a helpful starting point for those of us who'd like to find headphones that have a neutral frequency response. I have a large collection of Classical Music on CD. With a signal path from CD player to amplifier to headphone that would be difficult to equalize precisely (without a significant investment in expensive equipment I really can't afford) I would definitely benefit from headphones that are tonally accurate right out of the box. I can use this list as a guide to begin making comparisons of the models that are most compatible with the Harman curve, while considering each model's strengths and weaknesses in other criteria, such as objectively measurable distortion, group delay, and efficiency. as well as more subjective qualities like soundstage, detail, imaging, dynamic impact, and comfort. Feel free to suggest any models that excel in most of these parameters (without requiring extensive equalization).

markanini

Major Contributor