• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones on the marktet matched to the Harman Target Curve

Mile

Are there headphones on the market, that are matched to the Harman Target Curve? Or do people mostly use an equalizer to adjust their headphones? May bee it sounds a little bit naive, but I'm completely new to this Harman Target Curve thing.

Joachim Herbert

Forum Donor
AKG K371, K361

Rayman30

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Sure but that's not exactly a way to tell how good a headphone is, best to get what you can afford then mess around with EQ imo.

Koeitje

Major Contributor
I just use Wavelet on Android, its uses the data from the AutoEQ project. My Sony wireless headphones are awful without equalizing them. My Oppo PM3 and Sennheiser HD25 are actually not bad. The list linked above also confirms it.

OP
M

Mile

I have tried Wavelet. Very well. But I did not quite understand that completely.When I select the preset for my model, the headphone sounds like a Harman Target? Or comes at least close to a Harman Target? I want to get an impression of what a Harman Target sounds like.

OP
M

Mile

Sure but that's not exactly a way to tell how good a headphone is, best to get what you can afford then mess around with EQ imo.

Of course not. I don't think so either. But it makes your own selection much easier. You can't try out all headphones.

YSC

Major Contributor

solderdude

Grand Contributor
The ranking makes no sense to me at all but that's probably just me.
Just as I don't agree with Rtings rankings although their usecase ranking makes a lot more sense it is only ranked on numbers.
Also Crinacle's rankings are different yet again. But at least that is based on his preference.