• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones choice for Progressive Instrumental Metal

glpsace

Hello friends,

This is my first post, I'm from Portugal, and let me just say straight forward that I'm a total newbie in this world. So please just be patient!:p:)

Anyway, I recently changed all my ecosystem from Microsoft to Apple (Iphone, Imac) and I'm streaming Apple Music, either on the iPhone or Imac at home. I want to start by concentrating on the system at home.

In the last few years I fell in love with progressive instrumental metal / rock, and listem to this genre exclusively nowadays, bands like Dream Theater, Animals as Leaders, Pliin, Chon and my absolute favorite that I listen 80% of the time, Scale the Summit. No vocals, just instrumental with former albums with a very earthy sound, great balance between the guitars, bass and drums. I could say sort of fast paced but with great instrumental clarity. The last 2 albums have the Lead guitar overpowering the other 2 instruments (they ditched a guitar since 2016), which is different for sure but I still love it anyway.

I tried my best to describe what type of sound I lesson because my love for this genre, led me for the first time in life, to think about stepping up my game (which is very poor both in knowledge and gear at this moment) in sound.

I will be using my Imac as a streaming source at home and I'm planning on getting either a couple of DAC and amplifier units, or a 2 in 1 unit.