• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones around the $200 with 'FUN' sound signature.

papachigly

Need some help choosing headphones around $200 - $250 range.

- MUST be comfortable with no hot-spots, particularly on the central head part as this is where I feel most discomfort.
- Fun sounding with slight V shaped sound signature as I'll be using then headphones for not only music but also some movie watching.
- Type of music I listen being a lot of 60's 70's Rock, Jazz and Funk.

Bearing in mind I'm going from a Superlux HD681 to whatever you guys suggest, plus I'm no expert in terminology but understand
that Y sound signature (I think) means making the bass and treble 'pop' a little. With the type of music I listen to, I guess that the mids
need to be somewhat pronounced. I'm also aware that EQ may fix what the headphones may lack.
Ending on the note that comfort is 50% of the reason on choosing a headphone.
Any help/advise would be really appreciated as I'm at a bit of a lost with the vast array out there, although having so much choice is awesome.

EDIT: List of headphones suggested so far..

- Drop/Sennheiser HD6XX., Beyerdynamic dt990, AKG 702, AKG 371.

These to be paired with a portable Bluetooth DAC Shanling UP4 - xDuoo XP2 Pro or Fiio btr5

Last edited:

dfuller

Major Contributor
Around $250 I don't think there's a better value than the Drop/Sennheiser HD6XX. Sure, they don't have a ton of bass and some find them a little veiled (I personally dialed in a bit of high and low shelving) but the mids are amazingly accurate. I find them pretty comfortable even with my giant head.

fffffgggg54