• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones / Amp recommendation for given budget

tamask01

Hi all,
I'm new to audio stuff and I'd like to make my first meaningful purchase. I'd like to ask you for suggestions as your product reviews and general know-how seemed better than other forums. I'll keep my question clutter free.

Topic
Audio setup for PC desktop, looking for Headphones and amplifier (and DAC if needed?)

Budget
600 $, give or take for the whole thing.

Use case/setup
Used only at home, at a desktop PC. Will game or listen to whatever I feel like at the time but will do no serious sound / music production.
  • No active noise cancelling needed
  • Passive noise cancel isn't a requirement either
  • Wired only
  • Motherboard: Asus Rog Strix B550-f with its SupremeFX audio, whatever that is
  • I wear glasses
  • I'll wear the headphones for a couple of hours at most at a time, not the whole day
  • No microphone needed / not for competitive gaming
My homework
I looked up reviews here and on other sites. I learned about some brands I haven't known before but not every great brand has all perfect product lineup. Based on that I think my product category is the "entry level audiophile" stuff. For this price range I think most of the budget should be spent on the headphones but I'll definitely need an amplifier to power it properly and for convenience.

Why I think I'll need an amplifier
I tried a Sennheiser HD 560S through my MoBo's rear IO audio slot, it had a terribly weak and hollow (albeit accurate) sound so I returned it. I learned later on that it is advised to use the front panel audio but that doesn't work on my pc case... (facepalm).