• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones (<$500) with un-EQd frequency response closest to neutral speakers in a treated room?

OP
P

Phosphenetre

On the subject of engineers recommending certain headphones that are not really competitive choices in this day and age, many of those recommendations originate from an era where you simply did not have some of the better tuned and more neutral headphones that have debuted in the past decade or so.

For example, I'd never recommend the DT 770 or M50x as an engineer myself, knowing there are things like the Sennheiser HD 400 Pro/560s and Audio Technica R70x around now in the same price bracket. But back in the day, the M50 and 770 may indeed have been some of the best options available at the time, and engineers simply 'learned' them and their frequency response idiosyncrasies, adapting to work around them. Most of those are also closed back, which is mandatory if using headphones in the tracking room, as opposed to while mixing. That's how some of these headphones came to be so widely recommended even though they are now far from good picks.

D

Deleted member 60987