• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphones (<$500) with un-EQd frequency response closest to neutral speakers in a treated room?

Phosphenetre

Hey everyone! As the title describes, I'm looking for headphones that in their stock/un-EQd state, have a frequency response most like neutral studio monitors in a treated room. For reference, I'm a musician and audio engineer, so accurate nearfield studio monitors in a well treated room are my 'normal'.

Why no EQ? Because I'll often need to use these plugged directly into random things like keyboards or guitar amp simulation devices.

I know the subject of what makes headphones sound like speakers in a room is a complicated and unsettled one, but from what I know so far, the Harman curve target is a good candidate, perhaps the best we currently have.

Based on that, I've so far been looking closely at the Sennheiser HD560s and the AKG K371 (which I don't feel as confident in the build, fit and comfort of). I already have the Audio Technica R70x, which in its natural state does not do what I'm describing, although it does sound excellent with EQ calibration and room response simulation when I'm mixing. I need something to replace the R70x that does a significantly better job at sounding (frequency response-wise) like studio monitors in a control room.

How's the HD560s at this? Is there something else that outdoes it within the ~$500 range?

markanini

Major Contributor
Beyerdynamic DT880. Since you mention AKG K371 it's a better all rounder but not a stand out is this context.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
AKG K601 isn't bad. I use them as a reference tuning speakers. The Senn HD600 or HD650 might be another good choice.

staticV3

Master Contributor