• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphone setup for streaming shows/movies

ErinW

Hey everyone, I've been lurking and reading over the past few days but haven't quite figured out how to do what I want to do.

I am a complete noob and am trying to build a very basic home cinema setup with a projector I've been given, a streaming device and headphones. My biggest concern is the audio quality - I am mildly hard of hearing and if the sound is "tinny" or too bass-heavy I cannot understand what people are saying. I'm also a musician and enjoy great sound, although I'm not sure if I could actually detect any difference in audio quality at the very high end of the spectrum with my hearing. I do want it to be decent enough so I can understand what's going on though and I want to feel like I'm in the movie/show I'm watching!

The options for streaming devices (I'm in the UK) seem to be a Roku, a Firestick or an Apple TV. I've discovered that the projector (Optoma HD131Xe) has a 3.5mm audio out jack to which I could connect, but I have no idea if audio fed from Roku/Firestick/Apple through the projector to wired headphones would give me decent enough quality?

Are there any other things that might be potentially better - split the audio out from the streaming device straight to headphones - I see there's things like HDMI extractors? Some sort of Bluetooth solution? I'm not bothered if the headphones are wired or wireless - I'd probably actually prefer them to be wired as then I don't have to charge them, but I would like them to not be in-ear. I've got a pair of wired Sennheisers that are alright and could use those.