• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphone, DAC, and amp suggestions for newbie who likes big soundstage and sub bass

Pdxwayne

Major Contributor
Hi All,

I have been listening to music mostly via my 5.2 setup. I like electronica that places notes in large 3D space all around me, with nice 30hz and lower bass notes. I like it loud.

A very rough description of my 5.2 setup: retailed for ~US$22K, decent AV preamp, 4 decent stereo amps, decent speakers, and 2 sealed subs. Whole system have ~3250 watts RMS capability (~2500 watts RMS from subs).

Due to kid and wife now stay home for school and work, I have little opportunity listening loud. Thus, I am thinking about using better headphone setup.

I am a newbie in higher end headphones space. Basically my headphones are all less than US$100 and driven by my Samsung Note 9.

I am thinking about getting dac, amp, and headphone that would give me something similar to my 5.2 setup, excellent clarity, large soundstage, and good bass extension.

I am thinking about the new Sennheiser's HD560S, powered by TempoTec Sonata HD PRO to get started. Is this combo good enough to reproducing large 3d soundstages with nice bass extension and excellent clarity?

Any other combo suggestions to get started?

Thanks!

Cahudson42

Major Contributor
Well, from where you are - perhaps be prepared for several iterations. First, HP planar vs. dynamics. Let's start with '$ is not an overwhelming issue' - so get the HD560s, but at the same time, a Hifiman HE400i, or Sundara.

Now an amp that will not hold back the planar. Despite what others say, IMO the hifimans need at least a watt. Better 2. An L30, Heresy. Even a Liquid Spark (what I use with the He400i. Hits above it's SINAD).