• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphone and interface for beginner music production

JoeCool

I'm a beginner in music production but I've reached the point where I'd like to upgrade my setup a bit, to get a clearer sound. For the moment I'll stick with headphones as I'll wake people up with speakers. I've got a pair of Superlex HD668B and using my motherboard's audio output into some ancient 'hifi' so I guess improving that won't be too difficult.

The DT 770, 880 and 990 seem to come up as suggestions around the internet quite a lot for dance music production, but I see the AKG K701 had a great review here (all around the same price in the UK atm). So I'm wondering what would be good for me. Currently I'm dabbling with lots of different genres but I guess psytrance would be something I'd like to write a lot of, if that is relevant.

Looking at interfaces, I was interested in the Audient ID4 II or Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Gen 3. But I'm thinking those would rule out the K701 because of output impedence and THD for low impedence headphones respectively? So I was also thinking about spending a little more for the Motu M2 but it seems to be out of stock everywhere in the UK (maybe since January!).

At this point I'm a bit stuck so hope I can get some advice on hear. Many thanks for your thoughts.

OP
J

JoeCool

I personally wanted to buy the Motu M4 for a personal project, it's a very good well rounded product.

there is no substitute for a real speaker setup though, you can't get a balanced mix using a headphone no matter how neutral you think it is.