• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Headphone Amp

Xacav:

Hello, fellow audio lovers. I am very new to this and I just bought a pair of Massdrop Hd 6xx headphones, and I know I have to pair them to get the best out of them. I have a little bit over 100 dollars left to buy an amp. I can only get one what would you recommend.

3125b

Major Contributor
I'm assuming you are looking for something for desktop use?
If you go with the low-ish output from your mainbaord or a 9$ Apple Dongle as a DAC (expect about 1Vrms from either), the Schiit Magni Heresy is hard to beat because of its 6x high gain if you want a good amount of power for EQing or so.
If you can do with a little less, the JDS Labs Atom is of course still a great choice.
The Topping L30 perform very well too, however it could really use a proper 2Vrms input (at least).
The HD 6XX aren't terribly hard to drive, for normal listening levels all these would be fine. If you get some hard to drive headphones in the future, the higher gain would be more important. Or you couldbuy a DAC with a higher output level, but don't expect any audible improvements over something like the already transparent Apple Dongle.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
I have a little bit over 100 dollars left to buy an amp. I can only get one what would you recommend.
Schiit Heresy, Magni 3+, Topping L30, JDS labs Atom, O2, Monoprice liguid spark, Fiio K5, Topping NX3, Topping A30.
Pick any of them based on looks and functionality.

OP
X

Xacav:

I'm assuming you are looking for something for desktop use?