• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

HDMI over CAT*, any experience with HDBaseT products?

Trouble Maker

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I wonder if an HDMI cable with micro HDMI connectors could fit in your PVC tube, and then use micro to regular HDMI adapters. I've no actual experience with these, especially at these run lengths, just a thought from a quick google search about what's out there.
Or...
Can you remove the ethernet cables, pull the HDMI, then if still needed re-pull the ethernet cables? Anyway, pulling the stiffest/largest connector cable first, then the smaller ones will usually work better than the other way around.

Edit: You all beat me to it about Micro HDMI. I guess when the 'click for more recent post' button comes up, I should click it sometimes. :)

OP
voodooless

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
If a micro hdmi won't fit then an RJ45 connector on an Ethernet cable is going to be an issue too as they are about the same size.

That hasn't been a problem for decades. I can fit those myself.

I have one of those micro HDMI adapters here, I'll check how much wiggle room they would give. Certainly, I cannot fit the connector and the CAT 7 though there at the same time, and one-by-one will be even harder.

OP
voodooless

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
My brother uses one of these optical HDMI cables with detachable connectors with succes through a 21mm diameter (rigid) PVC duct, along with another cat6 and a USB cable:

https://www.ruconnected.nl/hdmi-kabel-door-buis/

Thanks, that sound promising. The major difference I guess is ridgid vs flex tubing. I guess I can just replace my flex if needed. That is a super cheap solution (at least that part).

Last edited: