• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Greetings from a New Member

cshake

Forum Donor
Hi all!
I've been lurking for a few weeks and figured I'd make an account and start to occasionally contribute.

Some introduction and my audio background:
I'm a mechanical engineer by training (BS+MS) and trade (~6 years so far), focusing on robotics through school (alas, not exactly what I'm working on now). Exposure to the E&M side of things, playing percussion since 4th grade band, plus working in technical theater throughout college got me interested in good sounding audio. Our technical director in the college theater department built speakers as a hobby and had a very nice sound reinforcement setup in both the traditional auditorium-style and black box spaces, which I had the chance to run soundboard for a few times including live mixing of a show or two with <10 mics. The large mixer boards and full 19" rack of amps, players, EQ/DSP boxes, and a patch panel was great for learning how it all worked and how to do proper gain structure to minimize noise. Running department-produced shows with proper source material from CDs and then doing student choreography dance shows with student-provided burned CDs they cut themselves and sourced from ripping low bitrate youtube videos was also ... enlightening.