• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Got Scanspeak Revelator 15W/8530K00 and Scanspeak Tweeter D2904/980000 - What to build?

prasanth.nath

Forum Donor
Greetings.

I have an ellam 98 mk II http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/Ellam98-mkII.htm designed by Troels Gravesen of Denmark.
I made the terrible mistake of buying a JBL 305 mk II recently, because of the one-man-industry-disruptor we all know about.

To my utter horror, the ellam is thoroughly unlistenable, after listening to the 305. [Of course, I am sure the fault is mine, not the designer's]

I am not technically competent to explain why the 305 is so much enjoyable, compared to Ellam.

I was wondering how best to utilise the drivers I have. I think there are 2 paths.
1. I could try using minidsp and configure alternate cross-overs on ellam.
Also experiment and make it an active kit using the AIYIMAs of the world to drive it.
2. Or I could try out a different design itself using the same mid-woofer/tweeter.

Would the community be able to offer some suggestions around option 2 please?

Note: I have some experience using REW to measure drivers (using minidsp U-mic) and trying out cross overs in dsp.

preload

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I've built a couple of designs from Troels. If it's "unlistenable," you may want to double-check everything, including polarity, crossover values, etc. Did you use the exact same crossover components/brands he spec'd, or did you substitute? Do you have measurements? I've worked with the 8530k before and a bunch of different Scanspeak tweeters before. They all sound pretty good.

OP
prasanth.nath

prasanth.nath

Forum Donor
Exact components.