• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Give me your opinion on my listening impressions!

SaladDressing

Hello beautiful people,

I just had the chance today to get a drive to Thomann, which is europes biggest music store. I am a student, I don't have a drivers license or a car and you cant really get there by public transport, so obviously I took the chance. I was mainly interested in listening through their Studio Monitor lineup (though I had much fun with the big ass modular synth they had standing around too). I will just use them for listening for now. maybe DJing/Modular synths in the future.
In my price class of 1000€ for a pair I listened through all their speakers. In the end I had 4 main contestors. Note: I didn't eq them really for ease of comparison.
1. The Genelec 8030C
2. Eve Audio SC207
3. Adam Audio A7X
4. Presonus Eris E5 XT
The Eris went out of the list after first being really suprised by its bass response. They are way more forward than the other mentioned speakers, went quite loud with pretty good bass. At that price point of 300€ a pair they really are a banger. Didnt like the JBL 305p MK2 at all. Sounded a bit like a tin can (exaggerated of course). Welp they went out after some further listening and noticing that the bass is muddy and very active even when eqing out bass frequencies.

The second thing I noticed was the forward and clear sound of the eves. I like that sound way more than the one from the gens. Problem is, the heights are a bit too harsh and overtuned to my taste. So they went out too.