• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec 8030c vs LS50 Meta/Wireless

NeoZs99

Hello asr!! Newbie here.I hv been thinking about upgrading my LSR305s since some time and been considering the Genelecs and KEF for nearfield use. Been through the 8030c review thread, and it suits what I've looking for and is also in my budget.
PS:I also hv the svs sb1000 in my setup.

The Genelecs are currently out of stock at Thomann and another alternative would be the kefs. Anyone has had experience with both and would kindly share your opinions on how they directly compare?

Last edited:

Marc v E

Major Contributor
Yes. I can only be positive about the genelecs and would heartily recommend them. I heard the ls 50 but would never consider buying or recommending them.

How they compare:
The genelecs have more bass and present the music therefor in a more balanced/natural way. The Ls50 completely lack bass. I found them sounding boxy too.

The genelecs sound more neutral and never lack in detail. Actually they are amazing for their size and price.

mononoaware

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I think more direct comparison would be Genelec 8331A vs LS50 Meta,
8341A vs Wireless II.

mononoaware

A pair of 8341a is like 5/6k dollars lad, and the wireless II like 2500. I'm also pretty sure they measure and sound better than the kefs

You get what you pay for. . .
(admittedly probably a bit less)

But seriously would you rather a decade of domestic use (not professional) with the Genelec, or failure in 2.5 years of domestic use with the KEF LS50Wii (assuming KEF didn’t learn anything with the failures of LS50Wireless models).

Last edited:

mononoaware

Actually the genelec 8030C measure and sound better while costing less.