• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

First time trying to fix a room, all tips welcome

snakearmpit

Hi everyone,

I finally got a room for myself and, long story short, after years of headphone use, I got my first pair of speakers. I'm loving them but bass was feeling a bit weird. So I went on to play a frequency sweep just for fun and almost fell off my chair at around 130Hz. :) I did some reading, got myself a mic, REW, measured it and now I don't know which way to go. I have some budget for room treatment but before reaching out to companies like GIK Acoustics for advice I thought I'd ask you fine folks. I'm no pro btw, in case it's not already obvious. Let me know if I'm not in the right place.

Below are measurements with both speakers on, mic at listening position facing forward. I've also measured the speakers individually and the results are interesting (to me at least) as they don't follow the same curve. The room is not square or rectangular (see below) so I assume that may be why. I can add those too if needed and can share the rew files too. Measurements are easily repeatable and consistent. Let me know if there are other scenarios/configurations I should measure.

A bit more about the setup:
Speakers are Focal Shape 50 (active, near-field). They are on audio acoustics stands on top of my desk, tweeters are at 120cm from ground, same as my ears when I'm sitting upright for listening. Space between them (measured from center of woofer) is 140cm, roughly the same distance to the back of my head when I'm at listening position. Speakers are not ported and are 7cm from the wall, I also tried placing them 20cm from the wall and did not seem to make much difference.

Room Measurement.png