• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

First hifi system

Reli

Firstly thanks all for the information in this forum, amazing.

I am new to audio world and realised that I really enjoy it. I am starting to build my first system and I was hoping if someone can help as I am not sure if I am missing anything to get me started?

I have:
Speaker - Elac dbr-62
Amplifier- Topping PA5
Dac - Topping D10 B
Audio Source - I would like to use the laptop and raspberrypi that I already have as would be mostly listening from TIDAL. Also I have a DAB radio ( Revo supersignal), would I be able to use as it has stereo rca connector (red and black)?

Thanks

Harryharryharry

That will be a very nice sounding system!

I'd recommend buying second hand where you can, as this saves a fair amount and means you can swap stuff without losing much.

I believe you can use RCA to TRS cables with the pa5, you will obviously lose the balance but that's not the end of the world.

I've used a raspberry pi which was fine but a bit noisy. If you want great user experience I highly recommend the Wiim mini streamer, everything you need for £80 and it just works.

That being said if you want to venture into room correction you can do this on a Pi.

Enjoy

Harryharryharry

On the PA5 fault topic, I had two, one broke one didn't. The one that broke was left on all the time.

The service was responsive and said they'd fix it if they found it faulty.

Returning to China is a pain though and my amp is currently lost as the courier sent it to Canada by mistake

However, they do sound incredible. I upgraded from a Hypex nc252 and felt the topping was a big jump in sound quality despite the Hypex supposedly being as good as transparent...

DanielT