• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Fiio K7 or Topping A30 pro + D30 pro

besbos

I'm a newbie and just got my DT 1990 Pro headphones. Connected to the headphone jack of my Macbook Pro (2019) they sound pretty good but if I remember right they sounded better in the store with an amp.

I'm interested in the Fiio K7 because of the good reviews and I also like how it looks. But I could also buy a second hand Topping A30 pro / D30 pro stack for about €100 more. Is this worth it? Would I hear a difference? Any other suggestions are welcome too. Schiit and JDS labs are difficult to get here.

I don't plan on buying more headphones in the near future. I mostly listen to music via my Macbook Pro.

Additional question: I also own a Pro-Ject Essential III turntable with pre-amp built in but I can turn that off. Can I connect it to these amps and would this be an upgrade?

fishergod

Fiio has had tons of problem with the K7, to the point where they're pulling it from market and re-releasing a version with Bluetooth later in the year. I would'nt personally go for the Topping D30/A30 stack... I'd go for the Topping DX5.

OP
B

besbos

Fiio has had tons of problem with the K7, to the point where they're pulling it from market and re-releasing a version with Bluetooth later in the year. I would'nt personally go for the Topping D30/A30 stack... I'd go for the Topping DX5.
Why wouldn't you go for the Topping stack?
Now that the Fiio is re-released, I would think it's fine?

Dunring

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm currently using an A30pro/D30pro and you can't go wrong. Low gain is great for IEMs and high gain can handle the he6se. Also no buying balanced cable since it's the same power on all connectors.

OP
B

besbos