• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Expecting too much from Dirac?

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Hi

Bit of a Dirac noob here. Just done my second Dirac measurement and filter. I'd assumed direc would give a much smoother response, but though it has tamed a significant mode at about 50Hz (And eliminated Bass Boom as a result) the rest of the response looks similar to Dirac turned off.

Minidsp Flex

Small room (3mx4m) carpeted, but two glass walls.

REW measurements taken from the center of the "tight" measurement box. Umik 1 used for REW and Dirac. Is this what I should be expecting?...

DIracOff.png
DiracOn.png

ppataki

Major Contributor
@tonycollinet Just put the mic into the main listening position and perform like 3 measurements all in that position
Dirac will apply way more aggressive correction, especially below the Schroeder frequency - that shall be visible on the FR when you measure it with REW post-correction.
If still not, you can send here the measurement (L and R) and I would be happy to generate a compensation filter for you based on that

Last edited:

PatentLawyer

Forum Donor
Seems like the corrected response remains within a pretty tight margin. How does it sound? I assume you have the full-fat version of Dirac that does full range correction?

FWIW, I used Dirac on my cheap-o desktop setup of a $99 Dayton sub and ~ $150 MarkAudio full range 3" speaker kit, and got this....and it sounds really, really nice. (Sorry, I cut off the X axis, but the yellow bars are 20-20K).

1662644403984.png

mglobe

Forum Donor