• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Eq settings for hd660s (HELP)

dsjds1010

Hello, I am new to being an audiophile. I listen to rock, hiphop and some opera type music/violins and some games, i love y headphones. But i read eqs make stuff better. Anyone got good software with eq values to give outstanding soundstage/imaging or anything to make headphones even better. thanks. My headphones are hd660s.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Soundstage imaging can't be improved upon. The HD660S is what it is in this aspect.
Maybe with some EQ between 1kHz and 4kHz (you need to experiment) you can maybe get a small improvement but the limitations are caused by the small driver, short and not angled driver-ear distance. Those aspects can't be EQ'ed.
Better soundstage imaging requires HD560S or HD800(S).

HarmonicTHD

Major Contributor
Hello, I am new to being an audiophile. I listen to rock, hiphop and some opera type music/violins and some games, i love y headphones. But i read eqs make stuff better. Anyone got good software with eq values to give outstanding soundstage/imaging or anything to make headphones even better. thanks. My headphones are hd660s.
You can try this for tonality.

The site publishes EQ Settings to mimic the Harman (Sean Olive) preference curve for headphones. It is a start from which you can decide if you like more / less bass etc. and EQ further.

ADU

Major Contributor
Based on some of the available frequency response plots, the HD 660S is a bit too rolled off in both the treble and the bass. And also a little uneven in some areas in between.