• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Elac Tower Speakers Recommended?

dualimas

Hello everyone, beginner here looking for some opinions. Due to ASR recommendations I got myself the DBR62 s a few weeks ago and I absolutely love them. Now I'm looking to complete my hifi/ht setup (already have the DCR52 Center) with either another pair of Dbr62 s or the tower speaker DFR 52.

However I can't seem to find any measurements online apart from this one, from a youtube review so I'd take it with a grain of salt.

My question is whether anyone knows anything about these or has experience with them or whether I can expect the same quality from these as from the DBR62 s as they are from the same line.
The only times I've heard these mentioned was on another thread questioning if it was worth to get these compared to Dbr62 since according to Elac they hardly go lower (42hz compared to 44) though I do love the look of these towers.
As I've said, anything you guys know would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks
(edit, posted in this sub again, perhaps makes more sense here)

Screenshot_20210126-121455.jpg

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
OP
D

dualimas

DFR52 tower was measured by stereo.de
View attachment 108688
There does seem to be a dip around 200hz in this semi-anechoic(?) measurement that matches the in-room measurements that you found.

There was some discussion of the towers on the bookshelf thread. So take a look there as well:
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...5/&q=dfr52&t=post&c[thread]=12232&o=relevance