• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dynaudio Emit M10 Review (bookshelf speaker)

generg

Happy to hear this...

I looked inside and when I am right, the woofer has only a coil means 6dB filter and the tweeter has a cap and a coil, so I suppose 12dB.
Normally the cooking book says that 6dB filters on both sides demand no polarity change, and 12dB on both units demand to switch polarity of one of the units.
So with this mixture of 6 and 12dB, the phase correspondence might be not so compelling for the one or other.
I seems Dynaudio decided for the way the speakers have a small valley around 1.4kHz. This makes more panorama.....
Or in Chinese production was a fault....
:--))

Do not know and I am no expert.

Zaiden

Happy to hear this...

I looked inside and when I am right, the woofer has only a coil means 6dB filter and the tweeter has a cap and a coil, so I suppose 12dB.
Normally the cooking book says that 6dB filters on both sides demand no polarity change, and 12dB on both units demand to switch polarity of one of the units.
So with this mixture of 6 and 12dB, the phase correspondence might be not so compelling for the one or other.
I seems Dynaudio decided for the way the speakers have a small valley around 1.4kHz. This makes more panorama.....
Or in Chinese production was a fault....
:--))

Do not know and I am no expert.

If the tweeter polarity is reversed, would the tweeter sound become 180 degrees out of phase/upside down?

And if that's the case, should I switch around the tweeter orientation 180 degrees?

Zaiden

Yeah I just flipped my speaker upside down. The tweeter now sounds more correct, if that even makes sense.