• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dx3 pro+, L30ii and C200

GUGGE53

Hi Everyone,

In the past 2 months I have had some really bad experiences on the German Amazon.
I bought a DX3 Pro+ for my bedroom for approx 200€. I unpacked the shipping package and saw that the Topping box was dented and not sealed, neither with plastic foil nor sticker. There were some scratches on the underside of unit. Without even trying it, I contacted Amazon and was immediately refunded, without having to return unit. So no issues there.
I then tested unit and it was partly non-functional. For example, the control knob was unusable. Trying to change volume (I was not pushing and turning, just turning) , it instead changed input. It would then turn off and turn back on in firmware upgrade mode. Required numerous restarts to enter "normal" mode. I can only sporadically enter setup mode. I tried to flash firmware 1.25, but interface still shows 1.0. I thought I could live with this as I was fully refunded. I did suspect, though, that I had been sent a return from a previous customer.

A couple weeks later, I bought a Topping L30ii amp, also from Amazon. This also arrived in an unsealed box. On to Amazon again who immediately issued a refund. Unit works, so all good there, except I think this was also a used and returned unit.