• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DT 990 and FiiO k5 Pro issues: please advise

Jezu

Hi guys, noob here so bare with me :rolleyes:

I've been running my DT990's through my Scarlet 2i2 audio interface for years now and decided it was time for an upgrade. I thought getting a dedicated DAC/AMP would improve my sound from these cans, so after a bunch of research I grabbed the K5 Pro. Disappointingly I found that although the K5 gets much louder, the overall sound clarity/quality was only very very slightly better (not worth the cost), and at louder volumes above what the 2i2 can push I'm just hitting distortion and the brightness of the 990's really comes out in a bad way.
I'm thinking of returning the K5 pro, but I was also wondering if a new pair of cans + the K5 would solve the issue.. OR a different DAC/AMP set for around the 200 USD price?.

I took my 990's in to a local store and did some AB testing against HD650 using their top end amps and honestly the 650's came out more bright and a bit stale compared to the 990's at the same volume levels which confused the heck outta me, considering everything I've read rates the HD650 way above the 990's :(.. basically lost and on a timer to return that K5..

In summary my options are get a different (better) DAC/AMP set up or new cans and keep the 2i2 or replace the whole set up?..

Looking at the Topping DX3 Pro V2 on drop as a potential option.. and HD600, Hifiman 4XX, HD6XX - $$$$:eek:

Thanks

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
Hi, Welcome to ASR! :)

Have you seen the "Headphone Review and Measurements Index"?
Set "Recommended? (EQ)" to "yes"
Sorted $-$$:
1612156367017.png

Any of these should be on your short list.

Regarding DACs/Headphone Amps: