• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Driver choice for a shallow subwoofer

ai1

Hello Everybody,
I am writing to the forum for the first time, although I am following it for quite a moment already. I am trying to catch up with an old hobby, but if considering that it was really another time and another place, I might be seen as a newbie here. So, from the beginning, I would like to excuse myself if asking stupid questions which were probably discussed many times. Anyway, here we go:

I would like to build 2 shallow subwoofers to accompany John K.’s great Nao Note II RS speakers (essentially, to experiment with room modes) and, possibly, using them in other projects (music). What I have in mind is something in the spirit of Inkognito's excellently executed by Sigberg Audio. I know, cheating is not good, but with strong size and look constraints, the choice naturally goes in that direction. So, the subwoofer will be down-firing ~40L closed box with minidsp pwr doing amplification and correction. I am stuck with the driver choice constrained by
  • geography (Europe),
  • budget (<300EUR),
  • enclosure internal depth (14-16cm).
I do not listen loud, so high max SPL is not really expected, but getting ~100db at 30Hz would be nice, along with a reasonable level of THD. The price of Scan-Speak revelators being way above my constraint, right now, the contenders are (in alphabetic order)
  • SB Acoustics SB34SWPL76-4
  • Scan-Speak 32W/4878T00
  • SEAS XM001-04 L26ROY
I believe that L26ROY has a reputation of small distortion, I have not found distortion measurements for SB34SWPL76 or Scan-Speak 32W/4878T00.
In any case, I would be happy to get an educated second opinion, I am open to all suggestions.

Moonhead