• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Does balanced connection prevent USB/ground loop noise?

Graph Feppar

I plan to buy Fiio K3, a tiny 99€ dacAmp that gets power through USB, it doesnt have separate power connection, no brick.
I have read alot and I noticed these cheap small dacs and dacAmps dont have USB galvanic isolation and often users report or even measure some noise or morr specific, inharmonic idle tones that I believe are harmonics of AC power. I am no expert but I believe its some ground loop USB coupled crap.

Does balanced connection to headphones help with this problem? Mind you, I mean the K3 which is amp and dac in one box, I think it might be different if the amp and dac are separate and are connected by unbalanced connection. I believe the K3 is internaly balanced.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Does balanced connection to headphones help with this problem?

No. it only increases the maximum available output voltage (doubles it for high impedance headphones)
A groundloop cannot not be caused via headphones as they are fully isolated by centimeters of foam and plastic.

A possible groundloop can exist when the amps audio source is connected to mains and the fiio is also connected to mains via a separate power supply or when the audio source is not properly grounded for instance.

I drew this a while ago to demonstrate the loop:
common-mode-2.png

When the audio input and USB power are coming from the same PC/laptop a loop can occur between the USB ground and audioground if the ground plane/wiring to the board of the USB or audio path is not 'perfect'.
In the above drawing you can view the 'mains path' as the ground plane/USB cable.