• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Does ASIO or WASAPI really optimize sound quality?

Marcos Mazur

Does ASIO or WASAPI really optimize sound quality? I'm not an audio expert but I've noticed that these ''bit-perfect'' drivers improve sound in one way and worse in another, definition and accuracy improve (low latency) but sound vibe (so to speak) is a bit tiresome and ''forced''', Direct Sound being more limited sounds slightly congested but at the same time provides a less artificial sound, oddly enough. Searching forums I didn't see anyone commenting on it, would it be my ears, personal taste or is there something real about it? many DAC's like mine come automatically with ASIO support, I've used some others before and I realize the same thing.

Propheticus

Something with more latency is not less accurate, it's just 'late'. No issue for most domestic music listening. Low latency is needed for people producing/recording music (eg using midi devices to play and capture while also listening to a loopback on a monitor/headset) or of course live music.

Upsides are the availability of exclusive modes (Asio or wasapi are not synonymous to exclusive) and automatic format matching to prevent resampling.
Still that does not guarantee bit perfectness, which depends on playback software, DSPs enabled, EQ applied, system wide APOs.

Will not make a generic statement because it always depends, but audibility wise Direct Sound can be just fine and as good as other options.

aandres_gm

It's not that they improve/optimize anything, but more a case of not letting Windows touch the signal on its way out, which may degrade the signal.