• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DIY Direct-Drive amp for Estats

RetconCat

And so begins yet another needlessly complex project. I should disclaim before the talk of how dangerous dealing with multi-kV systems is and how I'll hurt myself that I'm in my last year of an electrical engineering undergrad, so I know how to work with high voltage safely.

I'm in the design stage for a set of DIY ESLs (a jazzman-inspired segmented wire stator design), and I'm thinking about my amplification options. As a starting point, I'll probably just use some MiniDSP plate amps and a transformer, but as a fun electrical engineering project, I want to build a direct drive amp system and completely remove the transformer from the equation. I've looked into a few topologies but I figured I'd ask the room here and see if anyone has any particularly good leads on designs or high voltage rated components.

Option 1 is a class AB MOSFET design based on this design. The schematic on that website is known to be inaccurate (connections where there shouldn't be, the random pointless diode), but I've got a working version simulated, and it shouldn't be too hard to expand that from a +/- 1kV design to +/- 3kV to match my stator bias voltage. The main reason why I'm not particularly enthused with this design is it would mean chaining a stupid number of fets to get the voltage rating I need using easily available 500V FETs, or shelling out for some even higher voltage units that I have a suspicion might not sound the greatest as they're designed for power regulation.