• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DIY cable and adapter making. Looking for others.

DonDish

Im in the process of doing some DIY cables and I looking for others who are into this. The internet has millions of guides and bits and pieces of info all over. Im looking for some living community to sparr some reflections with. Im new to this so my own contribution would be minimal.

My very loose criteria for such a forum or community would be like this, special areas of interest in bold:

1. No metaphysics. I can take some of it(We are talking about audio cables after all lol.) ,but I dont want to be boored into endless discussions about it. Both feets to the ground.
2. Discussions about flux, solder and weld quality. Soldering stations, use and maintenance.
3. Discussions about bulk cable. brands, workability, quality and electrical properties.
4. Discussions about contacts, shrink tubes, cable hose, anything related.
5. Use of multimeters and cable testers to verify results whitin reasonable tolerances.

So with a quick glance at the emboldened text you see where im going. Does anyone know of a goto which encompasses some or all of this I would be eternally happy!

HarmonicTHD

Major Contributor
I use Neutrik connectors because of built Quality. Everything else from the hardware store closest by. For XLR some pro starquads (vanDamme in my case, but any other will do too). Multimeter the cheap ones will do, to check for continuity. End of story. Sorry not much more to it.

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I built this on Tuesday...

I used a cheap generic solder station which was a massive upgrade from the cheap soldering iron I had been using previously: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B09FT4GG2Z