• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Distortion- Headphones or the Source?

Shanman

Forum Donor
I am completely new to dabbling with headphones and know nothing in regards to many here.

I recently acquired a new set of Sennheiser HD560S because of the decent price at the time, and reviews here. When I EQ the cans via my old Adcom preamp, a GTP-500II, bass distortion is readily heard at sane listening volumes.

How do I know if the distortion I am hearing is the headphones or my amp built into the Adcom?

The cans are 120 ohms and looking at my original manual specs on the Adcom I can't find any rating on the headphone output section. The manual does briefly mention "the jack has its own amplifier to power the headphones being used". Fairly useless info. Thanks for any help, I want to give these Senns a fair shake before I decide to return them. I don't have a dedicated headphone amp, and the other testing options I have could be a Denon AVR-X3300 or an Arcam AVR 350. Any help greatly appreciated!

Katji

Major Contributor
It's probably the headphones. How much bass boost is there? You could try doing the EQ with EAPO, adjust the bass boost until it isn't so distorted.

OP
Shanman

Shanman

Forum Donor
Thanks, I keep flip flopping between the 560S and some ancient Fostex headphones I snagged from my father to have something to compare the Senns to. I can’t get the Fostex T20's to distort, but they don’t have the bass extension or the comfort the Sennheisers have.

I am listening to them flat on the Arcam preamp by the way.

Last edited:
F

freemansteve