• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Soniclife

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Is it the same left and right?

It looks narrow, I'd ignore it.

Haint

I'm by no means an expert, but a couple ideas to try. First move your measurement position ~1' to the left or right OR 1' forward and back and see if the the dip goes away or significantly diminishes. Also see what happens as you move the speakers closer to the wall, further from the wall, and in different horizontal directions. The results might give an indication of whether it's modal or SBIR and someone more knowledgeable than me might can help you out.

suttondesign

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Very hard to fill those in electronically with EQ, I know from experience. EQ fails at such cancellation nodes. I have found that different speaker designs have dramatically different room nodes, while basic forward-firing boxes all do about the same thing in my listening room (for example, horrendous peak at 79hz which was unpleasant sounding but which could be tamed with EQ). That 79hz peak just went away when I went to an upward-firing woofer (Linkwitz LXmini), but then I got some cancellations elsewhere. Since you have a 130hz problem, about all you can do is make small adjustments to speaker position and listening position and try to create one sweet spot that's reliably smoother.

Ron Texas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Probably the room. As above, if narrow, ignore it.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

If the sub has a continuously variable phase control, it can often address issues like this that appear between the crossover frequency and an octave above or below. Worth a shot.