• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Denafrips Ares II - is it really worth it?

dogonelder

Hi!
My current setup:
Speakers: Rega RX5
TT: Rega RP3
Cart: Denon DL-110 MC
Amp: Rogue Sphinx V1 Hybrid Integrated (in-built phono)
Streamer: Chromecast Audio (CCA)

Listening Habit: 20% Vinyl 80% Streaming

I happen to be Electronics Engineer by trade but don't work on Audio much (sadly). Always felt DACs were important but not overly. After reading all the conversations about DACs and watching a ton of YouTube, I was still not convinced that I need a DAC. But then I recalled when I was at the store from where I bought my Rogue Sphinx, the owner played music on his MacBook through a Luxman DAC, it sounded fantastic. I had an Onkyo CD player then and I mentioned to him that I can always play through it's USB input if I wanted a better DAC than CCA. He was an old man, who was unconvinced, he said you're gonna need a better DAC than Onkyo.

I bought an SMSL SU-8 from MassDrop because it has great test results on this very website. Fed it over optical through CCA. The DAC sucked, the sound was flat, there was no discerning quality. The remote never worked, probably because MassDrop sells B-parts. I sold it off.

Now, I am considering maybe I can buy a Bluesound Node or Cambridge CXN V2. I don't know if the extra $500 for CXN V2 is worth it. Then I hear all the fuss around the Denafrips Ares II. It's R2R, the old school way (well for me actually school, where we built a R2R on breadboard in the lab). Also that the Denafrips sounds like vinyl. The ESS Sabre or Wolfson DACs have the soundstage. So is it like if you want wide soundstage, you need CXN or similar, if you want warmth, Denafrips?