• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC Selection Advice

windsurfer70

Hey everyone,

Not new to reading the forums but my first post here. I have read so many reviews in here doing my research and care and detail is incredible, engineer by trade and love the technicalities.

Now I am trying to select a DAC for my lounge system. I guess also any advise with my setup. So I have a set of M-Audio BX5 with their matched SBX10 sub woofer. Connected together by balanced leads. To me they sound really nice, they are currently being run from a media computer with an average external soundcard Asus U3 (clearly not balanced). Playing some FLAC albums, 320kb/s and Spotify Premium.

My plan is to improve and expand. I have just bought a couple of Google chrome cast audios, and would like to hook my TV to the system also. Currently anything I want to watch with the speakers I play through the media pc. I also have a pair of Bose Quiet Comfort 25's I use for travel which would be nice to use with the setup. So I believe I require the following:

1x USB connector - Media PC
1x Optical Toslink - Chrome cast Audio
1x Optical Toslink - TV
Volume Control (Each Speaker has its own control and the TV I believe cant change this, usb and chrome cast have no issue)
Ideally Balanced Outputs to the speakers

The only thing that covers all my requirements is the Cambridge Audio Dacmagic Plus. I live in the UK so I can pick this up from Richer sounds for £250. When it came out it got some great reviews. I feel though with all the new DACs out there I may be missing something? The other thing that bugs me a little is the lack of remote but that is purely laziness.

Any advice would be much appreciated,

Thanks,

Willem