• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC/Headphone amp recommendations?

Taketheflame

Hey all,

Newbie here who was directed here via another audio forum...I realize this is a more technically inclined forum (and the vast amount of gear reviews are amazing, but a bit overwhelming to dig through all of), but I'm hoping to get a bit of advice/help with tweaking my DAC/digital setup in my audio system. Please bear with me, as there will be some subjective terms in what I'm looking for/hoping to get out of my system.

I currently use a Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus for both desktop headphone use, and running it through a receiver via the Cambridge's analog outputs. From what I've read, it's a decent performer for the price bracket, but I'm not completely in love with it. I'm thinking of selling it and trying something new for the following reasons.

1. It doesn't offer full MQA unfolding. This isn't a hard requirement for me if the final "unfold" in the MQA decoding process doesn't add much to the sound quality, but if it does, it would be a good feature for me, as I do some listening to MQA tracks.

2. The overall sound character is mostly pretty good to my ears, but still seems a bit "dry" to me. I was thinking of trying something with tubes in the signal path to "warm up" the sound (i.e - adding the type of distortion/flaws that some find pleasing - even if it's less accurate audio reproduction).