• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC for Piano

scriabin

I am new to this forum. I listen primarily to classical piano music. I listen to CD's only no streaming. I have been researching DAC's for about 6 months and reviews focus primarily on streaming. What DAC (s) would you recommend I research? Price range below $5000. Thank you.

staticV3

Master Contributor
DACs aren't tuned for specific genres of music.

You DAC does not know if you're playing piano or dubstep through it.

$5000 is a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a DAC.

Imagine looking for a pack of tissues with a budget of <$200. I'm sure some cheesy luxury brand will sell you some gold leaved, caviar smelling pack of tissues for $179.

That's your $5000 DAC. It will do its job not an ounce better than some $100 DAC, but your pockets will be $4900 lighter. Is that an advantage to you? Your call.

GXAlan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Are you listening with headphones or speakers? The *speaker* as opposed to to the DAC is where you need to invest the greatest amount of money to get you the best piano reproduction.

Unless there are specific pianists and performances you specifically listen to, which are only found on CD, if you like physical media, I would recommend investing in a good SACD player. This has nothing to do with the added resolution of the SACD layer over 16/44 but the recording/mastering of today's SACDs are better than CDs and you more commonly find SACD Text support.

$5000 is a great budget to work with.

OP
S

scriabin

Are you listening with headphones or speakers? The *speaker* as opposed to to the DAC is where you need to invest the greatest amount of money to get you the best piano reproduction.