• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dac for bluetooth headphones or not

Reli

Hi,
I got a pair of Bluetooth headphones (focal listen) and I would like to get most of them in regards to sound quality. Please can someone advice if I would benefit getting a DAC and connecting it to my phone wired or is not worth.
If so would it make any difference using a standard Samsung type c jack adapter instead of e.g. Hidizs S8 taking in consideration I don't have high end headphones.
I am new to this and I am getting very interested to understand ☺️

Thanks all for the info in this forum.

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
A Dac converts from digital to analogue. Since your headphones are Bluetooth, you send them a digital signal, over Bluetooth and the dac won't do anything at all for them.

Unless you can also connect the headphones wired to an analogue headphone amp. However even if they do, it is unlikely you will hear any improvement, unless your headphones use one of the poorer Bluetooth codecs, or they are very high end.

It might help if you tell us which headphones you have.

EDIT - you did tell us :facepalm: - focal listen (presumably the wireless model). In which case they are Bluetooth only as far as I can tell, so a DAC won't do anything for you at all.

They do use good quality codec's/profiles, so you are good to go.

Last edited:
OP
R

Reli

Thanks Tony, that make sense. They do come with the cable so can be used wired as well and I remember reading somewhere that is better quality sound wired hence my question but if you are saying that there would not be any noticeable difference than I don't have to worry for now. I would like to get the sound they can offer.