• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Dac/Amp or Dac & Amp Suggestion

aachoudhry

Hello,

I’m a novice in this arena , but have slowly been researching and acquiring as much knowledge as I can.

I recently bought the hd6xx and I’m in the market for a dac and amp. I will be using my MacBook Pro (2017 with usb-c) as my source while listening to Spotify premium and my collection of music accumulated over the years.

I’ve been reading reviews and researching and I think I’ve narrowed down my options by quality, acclaim, and price point, but I would appreciate some feedback.

The topping DX3 Pro

Or

Jdslabs Atom + Topping D30

I like the idea of having an all in one unit. - DX3Pro

I like what the atom offers along with the D30. I realize I’m mixing, which aesthetically isn’t much matching, but from what I’ve read these look like the best amp and dac, respectively, at this price point. (Also, will this pairing work or am I better of going with a more traditional Atom+Ol Dac or A30+D30 setup)

I like also having the option for different connections, which I think either set up offers.

I’m still navigating the audiophile world, so will humbly appreciate any suggestions or insight. I’d like to stay around this price point of under $250.

Thanks!

Roen

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Khadas Tone Board + DIY Frame / Enclosure + JDS Atom would still stay under your price point and measure slightly better.

Memoryerror

Forum Donor
You could also go with the JDS Labs El DAC and use your MacBook's optical out (headphone jack doubles as toslink) and pair it with the Atom amp.

But I guess that goes above your price range.

OP
A

aachoudhry