• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC 4Vrms out to AMP 1.4Vrms in? Question on setup.

Tachyon88

Thought I would start here first, maybe I should ask this in the crown 2502 thread ? Brand spanking new to this, I have no experience with any equipment, other than my su-8 and thx 789.....Looking to buy Buchardt s400 and crown 2502 amp. Will hook up to smsl su-8 balanced DAC from PC.

PC>optical in DAC> balanced in AMP> speakers.

The DAC's balanced output is 4v rms and the amp's input sensitivity is 1.4v rms....the amp does not have gain, rather it's attenuation. I think I remember reading that the amp's max attenuation is 0db.

Question. When initially setting up the best noise to signal ratio, should I have source and dac volume 100% and start from 0 on the amp and attenuate the knob to the loudest comfortable listening level ? OR should I have the amps attenuation maxed out to begin with and raise my source/dac's volume from there ?

I hope I am clear, just not sure I fully understand what I am reading or what the best approach would be. Thanks for your time.
Quick reference
AMP https://www.crownaudio.com/en/product_documents/5055568_xlsdc2_mnl_print_050615-pdf-188f6caf-1d35-476c-85d1-14e7374821fd
DAC http://www.smsl-audio.com/Upload/download/20181220152119868.pdf

Last edited:

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

That amp’s gains read from 0 at minimum (counter-clockwise) to 10 at max, which is unusual. Typically on pro amps 0dB is full clockwise and the numbers show increasing negative values going counter-clockwise, with full counter-clockwise being a high number: -60 dB or something similar.