• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Could acoustic treatment help my room?

Jas0_0

Forum Donor
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie about room treatment, so I wondered if you might be able to help.

My speakers are Genelec 8040Bs fed from an RME ADI-2 DAC and Mac mini, using Focus Fidelity for room correction.

Subjectively the sound from my Genelecs seems less focused than my previous ATCs, which I've read could be due to the Genelecs' wider dispersion.

Also, there are big nulls which no amount of DSP will fix.

And there's an odd sensation that the sound is pulled to the left, even though it isn't. This might not make a lot of sense.

This is my room:

Floorplan.jpg

It's a classic 19th century London terrace with the sitting room opened into the dining room. Walls are plaster on brick. Domestic harmony dictates that I can't really move the speakers a lot, which is why they're jammed in the corners. They're on shelves, with the tweeters about 150cm from the floor, angled down and toed in so the tweeters point at the listening position.

Huge bass traps won't be tolerated, but panels for diffusion or absorption should be fine - especially if they can be removed and hidden when not in use.

In case helpful, before and (simulated) after plots from Focus Fidelity are below.

Any suggestions really gratefully received.

Thanks,

James

Before:

Before Left.jpg

Before Right.jpg

After:

After.jpg

kiwifi

Ideally rotate LP and speakers 90 degrees clockwise about the center of the room.

Failing that, move sofa away from the wall as far as you are able and add absorbing material to the wall behind the LP. That wall is too close to the LP for diffusers to be effective.

Bjorn

Major Contributor
Audio Company