• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Confusion over balanced output for headphones (DACMagic 200M vs. Jotunheim vs. Modius + Magnius)

xji

Hi, I feel a bit lost as I'm new to this space, and I'd really appreciate your help. I'm looking to get a setup that would power both a pair of active studio monitors and a pair of headphones. Both are entry-level (JBL 305P MKII and Sennheiser HD 600).

At first, I had been considering buying the combination of Schiit Magnius + Modius. (The plan is to plug in the headphones via the balanced output in front and the studio monitors via the XLR output at the back.) The problem is that I'm in Europe, and it seems that since all Schiit products are made in the US, they are ridiculously expensive in Europe (Magnius and Modius are both 50% more expensive on schiit-europe.com compared to their US prices... Or I can pay for international shipping + customs). So I've been wondering about alternatives.

DACMagic 200M as a combined DAC looks decent. It's also available at a good price from local retailers. However, one thing that made me unsure is that for the headphone it only offers a 1/4'' port, which seems not ideal. If I understand it correctly, this means the output is unbalanced, right? I wonder how much of a drawback this potentially is, compared to the balanced output we see on Magnius and Jotunheim.

Schiit Jotunheim 2 would be another option, but not only is it more expensive (and doesn't seem to support MQA, not that I'm a Tidal user at the moment), it's simply out of stock on schiit-europe.com...