• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Confused with the purpose of DAC

tidusminh

hi everyone,

I'm new to audio, and I just recently bought IFI DAC HIP. It works well and improves sound quality a lot on my android ( Xiaomi Mi 11).
But when I plug that DAC with my Macbook pro 16 inch - 2019, the sound quality is dropped to around 30% ( for the bass - based on my feeling ). Which means listen directly from 3.5 port on Macbook provide better sound.
That makes me confused now, isn't it external DAC supposed to improve sound regardless the source ?

Thanks for reading.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Macbook pro 16 inch
Some Mac product has been known to use decent DACs.
the sound quality is dropped to around 30% ( for the bass - based on my feeling ). Which means listen directly from 3.5 port on Macbook provide better sound.
This is a subjective test without blind testing parameters and level matching?
isn't it external DAC supposed to improve sound regardless the source ?
Not necessarily.

OP
T

tidusminh

This is a subjective test without blind testing parameters and level matching?
Yes, this is subjective test, but I can see the huge difference between with and without DAC on my Macbook.

Some Mac product has been known to use decent DACs.
If I understand correctly, in order to improve quality on my Macbook, I have to buy new DAC which has the chipset better than my Macbook built-in DAC ?

xaviescacs

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Differences, if real, are most probably due to headphone amplifiers, not from the DAC chips. Perhaps is a matter of power, the andorid is short of power and the MAC don't, which impacts mostly the low frequencies.