• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Chord Huei Phono Preamp Review

D

Deleted member 31750

Thank you for taking the time first of all which is honestly appreciated. The question la I’ve raised are not directly related to chord huei but on the nature of the measurements and how these can be interpreted. As an engineer my self I always approach a subject I don’t know well with questions that will provide answers. Never said your measurements are incorrect, never challenged your results and never expressed an opinion. My position is that I know that I know nothing and as such I asked the questions. I understand completely your view on a product that clearly underperforms compare to other units of products from the same brand I just wanted to understand at what extent -44db is a real problem compared to other sources of noice such as surface noise from grooves. It’s not a question if it is audible or not because I’ve never said that or asked that. Measurements are indeed useful tools on the right hands and and integral part of science. Same as the debate and argument (positive) on a subject. We see arguments in science all the time when journals are publishing papers contradicting each other. The reason I joined the forum is because I thought that divisions and constructive arguments can help me understand things. I never joined to troll or express an opinion. I like and respect too much Socrates and Plato for their teachings to do that. I hope this can be a place to debate, challenge and analyse what is behind the numbers and gain knowledge out of the process. As such your last sentence left me with a bitter sweet taste and in the context of the above I believe it was a bit harsh maybe patronising and border