• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Choosing audio interface to suit AKG702

iionas

Hi guys and girls,

Long time reader first time poster.

A little background about me: I produce electronic music as a hobby and my current audio interface is on its way out and I would like to purchase one but I don't want to stuff around I'd like to get it right.

I have a pair of AKG702 which I have been using for the past 10 years, both for production and music playback and content creation / consumption. I'm happy with them I don't wish to change them. They are rated at 62ohms max 200mw.

Info taken from here: https://www.akg.com/Headphones/Professional Headphones/K702.html

I have been eyeing off these:

Motu ultralite mk5 - https://motu.com/en-us/products/gen5/ultralite-mk5/
Motu M6 - https://motu.com/en-us/products/m-series/m6/

I have also considered an Id44mkii however I know little to nothing about this company.

The output of the headphone jack on both of those units can be found here from the legend Julian Krause. Attached to the post.

I'm just wondering if someone could please explain to me if the headphone outputs of these two interfaces are enough for my headphones.

If not, am I better off grabbing the M6 and a headphone amp to suit?

Should I Ditch the akgs and grab a m6 and a new set of headphones instead?

My budget thus far is 650 euro.

The M6/mk5 has enough I/O for me, maybe a little overkill.

Thank you in advance and apologies if this seems very straightforward for some of you I'd like to learn and understand your
responses.

i look forward to replies!

Cheers

iionas

Attachments

• image.png
    image.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 105

staticV3

Master Contributor