• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Choosing a Sennheiser HD569 headphone amplifier/dac

Zygot

Hello everyone,

I am currently choosing a budget amp/dac to accompany my headphones Sennheiser HD569. I usually use them at work because of their closed design with my phone mainly to reduce noise. With lockdown and permanent home office I would like to enjoy a little bit of quality sound without giving away any extra money. These headsets will only stay at work, so JDS Atom +D30 are unnecessarily expensive for this not so quiet environment and average headphones.

Since I have no experience with such devices, would you comment your choice that would power the headphones well enough. I just want to unlock 99% of the headphones potential.
How Tempotec Sonata HD Pro will fit with HD569?
I saw that with high impedance headphones low frequencies do not reproduce well due to lack of power. Should i expect same behavior with HD569 23Ohm?

Regards,
Zygot

solderdude

Grand Contributor
32 Ohm (HD569) is a standard headphone impedance. Given it's efficiency not much power is needed.
No portable devices will have problems driving this headphone.
Straight from a phone should already be enough so the Tempotech will do fine as well.
The 60mW output will give you 116dB peak levels (is NOT the same as average music levels) but certainly enough for loud levels.

Last edited:
OP
Z

Zygot

32 Ohm (HD569) is a standard headphone impedance.
Oddly these headphones are 23 ohms.
No portable devices will have problems driving this headphone.
Straight from a phone should already be enough so the Tempotech will do fine as well.