• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Choosing a right DAC for a newbie

Sami555

Hi, I'm new in this forum and I'm also new in the digital audio world. Can someone please help me to choose a suitable dac for me?
I am currently using the Rotel a11 mkii (also have a Marantz pm5005) and Polk R200. I need a dac to listen music from my laptop and from my CD player. My whole focus is on the sound quality rather than the connectivity and other features like Bluetooth, mqa, etc. I don't need an amp or headphone connection, just need a dac with very good sound quality, with usb and optical input. From my primary research I came up with these dacs - Topping e50, Loxjie A30, Topping dx3 pro+ and Topping E30 ii. Can you please advise which one will be the best for my listening purpose, i.e. best sound quality? Note that price is definitely an issue - my budget is around 200 to 250 usd.
Thank you in advance.

Last edited:

staticV3

Master Contributor
I don't need an amp or headphone connection, just need a dac with very good sound quality, with usb and optical input. From my primary research I came up with these dacs - Topping e50, Loxjie A30, Topping dx3 pro+ and Topping E30 ii.
The Loxjie A30 doesn't make sense in this context. It has Bluetooth input, a DAC, EQ, subwoofer out, a headphone Amp and speaker Amp all in one box. It's about as far away from a simple USB+Toslink DAC as can be.
The DX3Pro+ also has Bluetooth input and a built in headphone Amp.

I'd shortlist the E30II, Schiit Modi+, Sanskrit 10th MKIII, JDS Atom DAC+, or SMSL C100 for a simple DAC.
If there's a chance you might upgrade to an Amp with balanced XLR inputs in the future, then:
Topping E50, SMSL D-6, SMSL DO100, Schiit Modius E

A Cute Earring