• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cheapest DAC to combo with the Topping L50?

rieku123

Hi people,

I am kind of new to the game so please bear with me. I've heard that there isn't really much of a sound upgrade when comparing cheaper DAC's to more expensive ones and that you are paying for features at the higher end. I don't really need any features other than transparent sound quality, so what is the cheapest DAC I can pair with my Topping L50? I think the L50 is a bit too powerful for the apple dongle (lol) so I am a bit stumped. I have a budget of around £60, but I am willing to go higher if the price justifies it. I will be using the Hifiman Edition XS, and might try them out balanced.

Thank you for any help, it is appreciated.

Rieku

LTig

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am kind of new to the game so please bear with me. I've heard that there isn't really much of a sound upgrade when comparing cheaper DAC's to more expensive ones and that you are paying for features at the higher end. I don't really need any features other than transparent sound quality, so what is the cheapest DAC I can pair with my Topping L50? I think the L50 is a bit too powerful for the apple dongle (lol) so I am a bit stumped.
What do you mean with this? I do recommend the Apple Dongle and see no problem why it should not perfectly feed the L50.

OP
R

rieku123

What do you mean with this? I do recommend the Apple Dongle and see no problem why it should not perfectly feed the L50.